Planning my 1st Brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chris19delta

Reaction score
Recently ordered a Brewers Best Deluxe kit and i'm waiting on it to arrive along with a couple ingredient packs. Planning on starting with a brewers best english brown http://www.brewersbestkits.com/pdf/1016 English_ Brown_Ale.pdf
I was looking through the sticky/faq threads, and one of the warnings was about poor quality directions on kits, will I be fine if I follow their directions (in that .pdf I tried to link but it wouldn't let me make a hotlink) they seem fairly complete (but then again i know nothing about brewing). Other than a blow off tube is there anything really worth adding to that kit?

Sorry if this has been covered 1000000x

I'm a noob as well, i'll be bottling my first batch this weekend. But i've been reading and reading and reading some more.

Those instructions look pretty good to me. I have that same Brewers Best Deluxe kit and its got everything you'll need. I ended up buying some bottling equipment: vinator and a 90 bottle drying tree. But those are not required by any means.

Go for it! :mug:

The only issue I have with the instructions is they lead you to believe that the beer will be ready after about a week in the bottles. 3 weeks is a little more like it typically. Otherwise I think they are fine. Follow them and you will end up with beer.

You more than likely won't need a blow off either. I use one for at least the first few days just so I don't have to worry about krausen blowing up into the airlock and making more work.