Batch sparging with a single mashout run?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JerseyBrian

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to all grain and I was hoping somebody could help me figure something out.

I've brewed all grain twice so far using this batch sparge method:

- mashed with a 1.25 quart per pound ratio for 60 minutes
- added enough sparge water to get to 168, waited 10 minutes
- vourlauf/drained the mash tun
- the sparged another 8 quarts or so, waited 10 minutes.
- vourlauf/drained
- yield 7ish gallons preboil volume of wort.

the problem is that my Keggle is also my HLT so i have been draining the first runnings into a bucket. Is it possible to just add more cooler water to bring my mash temp to 168 and runoff my complete 7 gallon preboil volume in 1 run?
Any idea of what kind of efficency i can expect with that method?

I never properly tested my efficiency, but i know im getting better than 75% because 75% is what i calculate for and my beer comes out stornger than expected.

Oh and im mashing in a 52 quart coleman extreme and wishing i had bought the 70 quart instead.

What your looking at is referred to as 'No Sparge' mashing. It is done and is very similar to brew in a bag in practice. IIRC, efficiency is around 65% to 70%.

ahh "no sparge mashing"

i knew there had to be an easier way to explain it :)

so if its also the beer in a bag way, i guess its not recommended?

Purists might look down their nose and tisk-tisk you, but there is nothing wrong with the no sparge method if that's what you want to do. It saves a lot of time, you just have to adjust your recipes to use a bit more grain.