When to secondary a Flanders Red?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

g-star

Reaction score
I just brewed a Flanders Red with ECY02 and it is fermenting away in a plastic bucket. This strain contains Belgian sacch yeast, in addition to several strains of brett, pedio, and lacto.

My question is when should I transfer this to a better bottle for long term aging? I've never done a sour before, but from what I've read, the plastic buckets allow in too much O2, and I don't want excessive acetic acid character, though some would certainly be more than appropraite.

Anybody have experience or advice to offer?

I'm no expert but based on the input from a few experienced brewers, I transferred to glass after the initial sacc. ferment, around two weeks. Apparently leaving it long term on the dregs from the sacc. ferment will significantly enhance the funk beer, and as you mention having it longterm in plastic will really drive the acetobacter. My first flanders is about four months old now, so thats about all i can contribute. Good luck.

I'm no expert but based on the input from a few experienced brewers, I transferred to glass after the initial sacc. ferment, around two weeks. Apparently leaving it long term on the dregs from the sacc. ferment will significantly enhance the funk beer, and as you mention having it longterm in plastic will really drive the acetobacter. My first flanders is about four months old now, so thats about all i can contribute. Good luck.

Thanks. Just out of curiosity, what culture did you use? Did you ferment with a neutral strain first, then add the bugs? Or did you just toss it in all at once?