how do you chill wort to lager temps with plate chiller in Texas

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

General_Jah

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to brewing and have been doing all grain german lagers. Just did my 3rd batch this past weekend. One thing I am having a really hard time figuring out is a good way to get my wort down to lager temp to pitch my yeast. I'm shooting for ~45F. I live in Austin TX area and its HOT.

I have a plate chiller hooked up to a chugger pump that gets pretty damn good flow with 1/2" tubing. This last brew day I cycled the wort back into the brew kettle. However once the wort gets to aroudn 80F it stalls. I'm using a water hose for the cooling side.

I'm hoping some of you more experienced brewers than I with a plate chiller setup can help advise me on a good way to do this or at least what you use.

Thanks in advance

If you have just the one chiller, you can recirc the boiling wort through it to sanitize it. Leave the lid on so it gets sanitized as well. Then at flameout start the flush water, keeping your recirc running. Once the wort in the pot is cooked, switch the flush water from your garden hose to a bucket of ice water. Use a medium sized fountain pump (from HD or slowed) and about 20 lbs of ice. You can go straight into the fermenter on this pass and adjust the temp by adjusting the wort flow through it.

If you want to do it in one pass, you will need another (secondary) chiller in line. I do this as it allows for one pass but obviously you have the expense and maintenance of a second chiller.

-BD