Boil Longer to Increase OG?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Haputanlas

Reaction score
Hey Guys,

Would there be any problem with boiling my wort a little bit longer than normal to increase the amount of evaporated water (In addition to increasing the OG)?

To do this, I would possibly boil for 90 - 120 minutes, but then start my hop addition around 60 minutes and continue like normal from there.

If I don't burn the wort on the bottom of the pot, I would assume that this would be OK. Am I wrong in this assumption?

I'm new at this but I believe the standard way of increasing your abv% is to just use more fermentables. The way your suggesting sounds like it would work too, (increasing the ABV% by decreasing the total amount of water in the wort), but would produce fewer beers in the end. Also, if that really is what you're going for it would seem easier to just use less water to begin with. If you're doing a partial mash, perhaps don't top it off with as much water when you pour it into the fermentor?

If you are doing extract there would be no need, just add less top off water.
If AG then yes you could boil off more but at the risk of a little extra caramelzation from the long boil time so it might not be advisable for some styles.

Hmm..

I'm doing this because I am using the BIAB technique. From everything I've read (notably Charlie Papazian), the recommended amount of water per lb of grain is 1 qt and 1/2 gallon of water per lb for the sparge. Also note that this is for a 2.5 gallon recipe.

This would mean that I would need about 8.25 Gallons of Water for my 11lbs of grain. This is obviously way too much water for my recipe and I was hoping that I could just boil the 8.25 gallons until there was the proper amount for the boil.