Yeast not active, help!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tuffryu

Reaction score
I'm a beginner home brewer, and recently brewed a local brewery's ale recipe (last week). Actually, I brewed a 10 gal. batch with a friend and we split it. He took his batch home and added yeast the next day without problems. On the other hand, I've added yeast with no activity after 2 days. I added another pack on day 3 but still no activity.

I went to the local brew supply store and they said a couple of things, (1) the temp in my closet (60-65) may have been too cool for the yeast (2) not to rehydrate the yeast and add directly. So now, 6 days later, I've pitched my 3rd pack of yeast directly in the wort and let the fermentor sit outside (as it is much warmer outside than in - around 80-85). I am still not seeing any activity in the airlock. Is this batch gone? I see lots of sediment at the bottem, but I'm assuming thats from the mashing and yeast fall out.

Can anyone help? Any insight would be much appreciated. Thanks!