Stir Plate Using Hard Drive Spindle Motor

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

evenstill

Reaction score
Hi,

First off, let me just say that, although I’ve done some wiring and soldering and the like, I’m not an electrician by any stretch of the imagination. With that in mind . . . . .

I’m trying to convert an old hard drive into a magnetic stir plate basically using the directions found at http://tutorialtub.com/info/build-a-...n-old-computer. I’ve got an old Seagate barracuda model# ST118273LW that I was hoping to use. One reason I was thinking about using a hard drive spindle motor instead of the pc cooling fan was so I could have something strong enough to use to aerate an entire 5-6 gallon batch if I wanted to. I’d probably order a 4” long rare earth magnet for the bass and another 4” rare earth magnet for the stir bar. Any suggestions?

Anyway, I plugged a power supply from another computer into the hard drive and it started up fine. Then I popped the top off and removed the arm and magnets leaving only the spindle motor & platters inside. When I plugged it back in and powered up nothing happens. What’s going on? Is it possible that in removing the arm I took out some circuitry necessary for a start up diagnostic or something? If so can this be bypassed? Do I need to do something with the jumpers maybe? If I remove the spindle motor (3 posts) is there a way to wire it up without using a controller or anything and just be able to control the speed with a dial of some sort?

Thanks,
evenstill

I need to know... why are you stirring 5 gallons? Sounds like a cool project though. Can you isolate th motor and remove everything else? It is possible that one of the leads to the motor ran through the arm or another component now removed.