Yeast freezing question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

naperboiler

Reaction score
Hello everyone-

I am very new to Home brewing and have been reading up quite a bit on numerous topics and something that I have really noticed is the cost of yeast. I am interested in freezing yeasts and something that I have not yet read is flash freezing. I am a big foodie and have always been a fan of Alton Brown's "Good Eats" on the Food Network. One one of his episodes, he tackles the issue of freezing strawberries. Freezing conventionally results in mushy fruit when thawed because of ice crystals fracturing cell walls because the ice crystals grow slowly. His solution was to cool the fruit close to freezing temperature and then to use dry ice to immediately flash freeze. The science behind this is that the ice crystals are supposed to be much smaller and cell walls do not get ruptured. I have tried this approach on strawberries and blueberries and it does work. Would this approach help with freezing yeast?

Why not both to ensure success?

Flash freezing is certainly what the pros do in their microbiologiy labs, so it is a theoretically viable practice. But, they've also got freezers that hold a constant -70C. Chris White suggests using a high enough concentration of glycerin to actually prevent freezing in standard home freezers, and this is what I do. So I wouldn't want to flash freeze because I don't want my yeast to freeze at all.

I'd love to see a system that uses something like this, but I'm skeptical that it would actually improve viability. If you get positive data to the contrary, please post it.

How much would the dry ice and ethyl alcohol bath cost you?