sparging

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chrslund

Reaction score
So I'm new to all grain brewing and have only done batch sparging. I am only getting gravities of 1.004-1.005 with 10 lbs of grain. Would different sparge techniques get me higher gravities or do I need to increase grain quantity?

The mash temperature and time has the highest effect on gravity. What temp and time are you mashing at?

At what stage are you getting these gravity readings?? What's the batch size? 10# of grain, in a 5 gallon batch, if you didn't screw up on an epic level, would give you significantly higher OG numbers. FG could be that low, depending on other factors. Without knowing more of what you're actually doing, it's virtually impossible to say.

It's impossible to get an OG of 1.005 with 10 pounds of grain, even if you didn't crush the grain. Well, maybe if you didn't crush the grain, you could get that. But otherwise, it's just not possible.

Could it have been 1.050?

Oops I got an extra zero in there. Should be 1.04-1.05. I am taking the gravity reading after cooling the wort prior to pitching the yeast. Both batches had 10 lbs of grain for 5 gallon batches.

Whats the temp after an hour? If u lost massive heat and its down past sacc then u would get those gravities. What batch size?

I am new to it too. I would check out the all grain forum. There are some stickies that really helped me. I got lower OG than I wanted (1.043 vs. 1.054) the last batch. Then again I didn't hit my strike temp and had to raise it. There are heaps of helpful articles here and on the web. Good luck! Its defintiely a learning curve.

That extra 0 is critical... HUGE difference between 1.05 (or 1.050) and 1.005...