Cold-crashing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thile

Reaction score
Been reading up on here today about the whole primary vs secondary thing, but haven't really seen much on this. I don't have good fermentation control yet, but can handle my primary fermentation phase pretty well with just a swamp cooler, I think. But that's my first planned up grade - fermentation control.

Anyway, my question is, for how short a period would Cold-Crashing be useful? Could I try and do one relatively quickly given my current operating conditions - 18 hours or so?

I've never done that before so am looking for some possible pointers...

Also, I'll double check but it seemed like the Whirlpool FAQ had broken links for the pictures?

I'm not positive that I understand your question, are you asking at what point during the process should one cold crash?

People typically cold crash their primary about 24 hours prior to bottling. Bottling is typically done 3-8 weeks after you begin fermenting.

ditto phatuna. I'm not sure what you're asking.

IF you are asking if 18 hours is enough time to cold crash AFTER fermention is complete in order to clarify the beer (which is pretty much the reason to cold-crash)... then no. Not really. How long depends on many variables, like what you're trying to clear (yeast, chill-haze, both), the yeast flocculation characteristics, the temp, whether you used finings or not, etc. But regardless... you're looking at days, absolute minimum. Not hours.

Yes that is what I am asking - is 18 hours enough time to clarify by cold crashing post fermentation?