Heh--does this look infected? Oh, this is actually not funny.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JaySherman

Reaction score
Hey y'all. I have a batch of Amber Ale. It's in secondary. First, it had a green apple smell (which dissipated), and now it has these white areas on top.

So...does this look infected to you?

View from the top of the carboy.
9wCHUQm.jpg

FNF8xyF.jpg

R8m7rsG.jpg

Up close
y9XSXmx.jpg

Looks like mold to me. Is it done? take a sample. If it tastes good and is done, rack from underneath the (suspected by me) mold and it could work out well.

I'm no expert. ;-)

Like Surfer said, taste it, you'll know if it's good or bad. And just my 2 cents worth, but that looks like way to much head space for a secondary. The more surface area you have after primary is complete and it's no longer producing Co2, the more O2 is in contact with the beer and the better the chance for oxidation/contamination/mold to develope.

Just tried it. The taste is similar to how it was before.

The rafts appear to be...gas? I don't get it. I siphoned up some of the white rafts as seen in the picture, and they immediately dissipate into gas.

There is now additional airlock activity, so I have no idea what the hell is going on in there.

I'm just curious - why is it in secondary? Did you dryhop? I don't see any signs of that based on pics. Oh wait - that looks like hop material in the one pic...nm.

Like Surfer said, taste it, you'll know if it's good or bad. And just my 2 cents worth, but that looks like way to much head space for a secondary. The more surface area you have after primary is complete and it's no longer producing Co2, the more O2 is in contact with the beer and the better the chance for oxidation/contamination/mold to develope.