Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Food and Beverage > Cooking & Pairing > Brine using Liquid Malt Extract

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2008, 06:42 PM   #1
GatorNutz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Brine using Liquid Malt Extract

Hello, first time poster. I'm new to brewing, but am a seasoned griller/smoker (pardon the pun).

Anyway, I smoke a lot of pork shoulders (Boston Butt) and typically brine them with Molasses and Pickling Salt. Well, I finished my 2nd homebrew yesterday (A New Belgium Fat Tire clone...one of my favorite beers and not available in Georgia) which used Alexander's Pale LME, and I thought, "hmm, I wonder what would happen if I used LME for my brine instead of Molasses."

So, has anyone out there used LME in a brine? If so, how is it? I'm thinking about using an Alexander's "Kicker" of Pale LME (1.4lbs) for a 6-8lb shoulder. Possibly trying some Dark Belgian Candi Syrup as well.

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-02-2008, 04:26 PM   #2
Matt_G
Recipes 

Hey, did you ever try this?

I had the same Idea myself and just wondering how it might work.

Old 10-02-2008, 07:18 PM   #3
Melana
Up to no good....
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1311 Times on 807 Posts
Likes Given: 857

The molasses might impart a more complex flavor to the brine vs. LME

Old 10-02-2008, 08:46 PM   #4
GatorNutz
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_G View Post
Hey, did you ever try this?

I had the same Idea myself and just wondering how it might work.
I did, and it turned out very well. I could definitely catch a hint of malt flavor in the outer surface areas of the smoked shoulder, which was my goal (I prefer Malt over all other things ). I would recommend using a darker malt extract (DME if necessary). The Pale worked well, but I think the dark may have more complexity.

Molasses works well too, and is probably more "complex", but I like Malt.