Why are they few self priming magnetic pumps?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sawdustguy

Reaction score
I am just curious as to why we see very few magnetic drive self priming pumps at a reasonable price? Is there a physical reason? I am wondering why the impeller blade can not be extended in a March magnetic pump to make a seal to the outer pump housing so it could self prime? I am not a pump expert or a mechanical engineer so I am hoping someone can help me understand.