Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Which thermowell for STC1000 probe?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2012, 01:31 PM   #1
ebstauffer
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 142
Liked 12 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Which thermowell for STC1000 probe?

Subject pretty much says it all. Just got a couple of STC-1000s from eBay (I bought this one: this one FWIW). Going to put the probe in a water-filled container in my keezer but not sure where to source an appropriately sized thermowell. Probe tip is about 6.1mm at it's widest.

Thanks,
Eric

__________________
ebstauffer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2012, 03:34 PM   #2
HDIr0n
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
 
HDIr0n's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Missouri City, Texas
Posts: 537
Liked 27 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

I use this store since it is local to me with decent prices.

http://stores.ebay.com/Mainland-Valv...&_sid=99780274

I have a STC-1000 for my fermentation chest freezer and the probe fits well in there.

-G

__________________
HDIr0n is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2012, 03:43 PM   #3
Double-R
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Newburgh,NY
Posts: 316
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

STC-1000 first showed up as "Aquarium temp controller".
The probe is water proof,so if not going into any wort.You can use it "AS IS".

__________________
I kiddd,I kiddd.. I joke with U..,
Double-R is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2012, 04:00 PM   #4
ebstauffer
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 142
Liked 12 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
STC-1000 first showed up as "Aquarium temp controller". The probe is water proof,so if not going into any wort.You can use it "AS IS".
Very interesting! I'll give it a try. Thanks!
__________________
ebstauffer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2012, 04:18 PM   #5
ebstauffer
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 142
Liked 12 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

@HDIr0n - Regarding Mainland Valve & Fitting -- I've purchased all of my SS fitting from them. Great company to work with!

__________________
ebstauffer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2012, 04:31 PM   #6
lincoln
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lincoln's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 205
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by double-r View Post
stc-1000 first showed up as "aquarium temp controller".
The probe is water proof,so if not going into any wort.you can use it "as is".
+1
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atonk View Post
... beer perv i guess that's me
lincoln is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 03:58 AM   #7
beerbeerbeer123
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 331
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Not sure if he probe can fit in the thermowell and I could be way off cause i never used or even seen a TW in person but possibly you can put some water in the thermowell and if the probe fits into it the water in the TW will become around the same as the wort and give you an accurate temp..correct me if im wrong on how tw works

__________________
beerbeerbeer123 is offline
mikslen Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 04:02 PM   #8
rickyspeak
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 16
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

If you really want to use a thermowell, you can get a replacement probe. Supposedly they are are using a NTC 10KOhm @ 25C, 3435 Beta probe. http://www.thehomebrewforum.co.uk/vi...p?f=23&t=20318

You can get a replacement probe that can slide into a >5mm thermowell pretty easily. http://www.ebay.com/itm/3m-NTC-10K-1...item3ccc9f9396

__________________
rickyspeak is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 05:48 PM   #9
Huaco
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Huaco's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Just south of Cow Town, Tx
Posts: 1,221
Liked 111 Times on 69 Posts
Likes Given: 32

Default

I've been using the thermowells from StainlessBrewing.com 1/2" OD SS tube with a compression cap on the end. Goes directly in the wort.

__________________
My E-Brewery Build ---- My Multi-Temp Fermentation Chamber Build ---- My Multi-Temp Fermentation Controller
Huaco is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 06:32 PM   #10
heckels
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 714
Liked 49 Times on 40 Posts

Default

These have worked great for me.

http://www.brewershardware.com/16-St...hermowell.html

__________________
heckels is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STC1000 settings kickrjason DIY Projects 5 12-19-2013 01:34 AM
Where to find RTD or PTC temp probe that will fit in morebeer thermowell??? Patirck DIY Projects 22 09-03-2012 07:17 AM
Thermowell for Love Temp Probe chispas DIY Projects 26 07-23-2011 04:14 AM
Need help with Love Probe and Thermowell Mob_Barley DIY Projects 5 07-21-2010 08:16 PM
Thermowell ggltd DIY Projects 1 11-09-2009 07:51 PM