New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Hot/cold fermentation cabinet with TEC (peltier) module

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2012, 01:54 PM   #21
JKoravos
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I think it's a pretty cool project, nice work.

That being said, I fooled around with the idea of doing the same thing with Peltiers, but once I started playing around with them I realized how many I would need and the amount of power it would take to cool any significant amount of fermenting wort was going to be ridiculous. You've kind of found the same thing, I see. Getting the chamber down to 8C with a carboy full of water is a much easier task than keeping a vigorously fermenting beer at 18C.

As a comparison, my ferment chamber is about twice the size of yours and it is cooled with a 5,000BTU air conditioner. The chamber gets down below -15C within a few minutes when the AC is running.

Have fun with the project, I hope it works out for you, but I just don't think Peltiers are well suited for this task.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 03:31 PM   #22
mysobry
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 6 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by thargrav View Post
The end result is for every BTU you pull out like a heat pump the unit itself generates up to one BTU.
different way to say that peltier cells have low efficency...!

Old 03-28-2012, 03:37 PM   #23
mysobry
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by scaryeyes View Post
That will do as a heatsink for the cold side. Then.... The hot side.... Uh! Need to fill the entire back with expensive heatsinks and fans.
In my implementation there is no a side that is hot or cold…they revert themselves according to external temperature and set point
Ie when external temperature is to low the cabinet works like a oven…when the temperature is too high like a fridge..