Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Used argon regulator?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2011, 09:44 PM   #1
declanhalpin
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new bedford, ma
Posts: 115
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default Used argon regulator?

Hi all

I am getting my kegs setup and I was wondering if I could use an old argon regulator that I have at my shop. Any health issues? It is an inert gas afterall....

Tx,

DH

__________________
declanhalpin is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2011, 11:23 PM   #2
BigEd
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,384
Liked 123 Times on 108 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

Health issues probably not but I'm not sure it's going to work for CO2 either because of a large difference in the tank pressures and/or the actual fittings or thread sizes. A new CO2 regulator is not a lot of money and you will use it for years. Buy the proper tool for the job.

__________________
BigEd is offline
Melnyk Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-21-2011, 12:49 AM   #3
JacksSpleen
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shoreline, WA
Posts: 42
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I looked into this as well as I have a argon/co2 regulator for welding. The main issue looked to be the fitting sizes as Biged pointed out. You may need to use an adapter to get your regulator fit, in my case it was CGA 580 regulator to a CGA 320 which is the standard co2 bottle connection. It was only like 20 bucks and I was all set to order but then I a found a whole setup which included co2 regulator from kegconnection which turned out to be cheaper all said in done as I only had the (welding) regulator and co2 tank from the start.

Hope that helps

__________________
JacksSpleen is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-21-2011, 02:16 AM   #4
fatmoose
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 175
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by declanhalpin
Hi all

I am getting my kegs setup and I was wondering if I could use an old argon regulator that I have at my shop. Any health issues? It is an inert gas afterall....

Tx,

DH
In terms of health issues, no. They use Argon for kegged wine, my Dad has been doing it for years. He's got it fitted to an old soda rig that was co2, not sure if he modified it or not. Its pretty sweet, 4 different wines on one gun.
__________________
fatmoose is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools




Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS