Siphoning Help Please

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paradis9

Reaction score
I am a total newbie to beer making (and this forum). A friend of mine says that I should use a Super Jiggler siphon hose for transferring my beer when I am doing the reracking process. I ferment my beer in a 20 gallon plastic garbage can. I found this Super Jiggler on the internet but I have very little money and I also live in a rural area where you have to drive miles to get to a city where I can buy the proper equipment. Any thoughts on the best and cheapest way to rerack my beer? Thanks.

Wow. First I an very interested in knowing more about your fermenter. Are you really filling a 20 gallon vessel with beer??

But besides that, you can easily siphon using some cheap parts. This is one thing I do:

Add a "T" (mine's stainless, but a food grade plastic T will work fine) in the racking hose. It should be placed high enough up on the hose to allow your hose to reach the bottom of whatever you are racking into. Place a pinch device on the short piece of plastic coming off from that T.

What you will do is block the long end with your sanitized finger while sucking on the short part. This will cause the siphon to start. Once it's started, pinch the short hose closed.

THIS KEEPS YOUR NASTY GERMS FORM EVER REACHING THE BEER.

You can also pick up what's called an Autosiphon, which is like a siphon pump. They are not too expensive, but if you don't have ready access to a store then it might be harder to get than a simple T and pinching device (like a pair of vice grips, or an actual plastic pinch clamp)