New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Not your normal pattern

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2013, 08:49 PM   #1
DurangoMatt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 4

Default Not your normal pattern

I am fairly new to brewing but I have done enough batches that I have seen a pattern. But I have a different pattern with my Midwest Cerveza Kit. http://www.midwestsupplies.com/mexican-style-cerveza-20-minute-boil-kit.html

So my question is not really about the time because I know I can give it more time, but here is what is going on.

I made the kit and had it in my primary for 11 days. The fermentation had stopped for about 2 days. At this point the beer was acting normal but was not very clear (did have a yeast cake on the bottom). I was thinking it was because of the 20 min boil kit. So I moved to to my secondary. It started to clear (normal) and on day 4 in the secondary it started to look like it was going backwards (not as clear). Now on the 6th day in the secondary (15th day total). I have bubbles in my air lock again.

Let me know what you think. I was going to just give it more time but let me know.

Durango Matt

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-02-2013, 08:53 PM   #2
JLem
naturally selected
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 168 Times on 148 Posts

Any gravity measurements? What has the temp been?

Old 08-02-2013, 08:57 PM   #3
Mozart
Recipes 

Liked 71 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 14

+1 to the above. Gravity measurements are the only way to tell with certainty whether the beer is done fermenting. Airlock activity could simply be due to CO2 escaping, which happens often, especially if the beer warms up and it only takes a degree or two.

Drinking: Hefeweizen
Carbing/Conditioning/Aging: Nothing
Fermenter #1 (6.5g): Empty
Fermenter #2 (6.5g): Biermuncher's Cream of Three Crops
Fermenter #3 & #4 (1.0g): Empty