Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Happy5000

Reaction score
I am thinking about buying a Home Brewing Beer Machine 2006 with Bottling Kit.

I've had success with the beer machine a few years ago brewing but I had trouble with the carbonation dispenser.

1. I didn't know if I needed to add carbon.
2. When I added a bottle the keg/dispenser seal would break.

I think I want to try again this time brewing and then sending the beer to bottles driectly. I've never done this before.

I think I like the idea of P.e.t Bottles and caps. To brew beer all I need to do is:

1. to sanitize the beer machine with water and bleach
2. add the mix and water.
3. Let the mix brew for 7 - 14 days.

Is this correct so far? Now to bottle:

4. do I need to add the priming sugar ? If so how? I was thinking is there enough carbon produced during the brewing ? or do I just add a few squirts of c02 via the dispenser to the keg before filling my bottles?

5. sanitize the bottles and caps & filling tube.
6. add the beer to the bottles.
7. Just twist on the caps?

is this all I have to do?

are Pet bottles caps a good way to go?

Can I sanitize by washing in bleach & water & then a hot rinse in the dishwasher?

Thank you

Ok, I'm not gonna answer your question, but instead pose one for you to consider.
How much space do you have to work with?

I've seen those beer machine 2000/mr.beer/et al....they are cute and functional...but if you have the space for a couple 5 gallon buckets, I would simply go for a beginner beer kit from a local home brew shop (or an online one). Main reason is you get a little more for your money, and you're not stuck with proprietary hardware.