New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > New brew tastes like soy sauce?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2008, 08:09 PM   #1
microwave135
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default New brew tastes like soy sauce?

Hi there all,

I am new to home brewing, just having started 2 months ago, very excited very glad to have a great resource like HBT.

I brewed my first batch of beer three weeks ago, it was a dunkelweizen:

1# Caramunich
3.3# Wheat LME
3.3# Amber LME
1oz. Argentina Cascades (60 mins)
Wyeast German Ale Yeast
1/2c. white sugar (priming)

1 week primary
~2 weeks in the bottle

Brew day went great, the only weird thing I did (and now I know better) is putting 7 lbs of ice directly into the fermenter to cool the wort down. (I had become interested by watching "Amber Waves," the Good Eats episode about beer making by food celebrity Alton Brown. He reccomended the ice solution)

My question is this: I opened a bottle up the other day to see how it was, and the color was a beautiful garnet, rather clear for a wheat beer, nice head, and the distinct taste of soy sauce.

Is this an issue of the yeast? Is this because I accidentally fermented the beer around 75 degrees? Is this just some estery compound that will mellow out in the conditioning phase?

I possess no particular penchant for patience, so should I just wait it out (of course I should.)

Anyone every encounter such an odd flavor compound?

thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-26-2008, 08:23 PM   #2
BEER_4_BREAKFAST
Recipes 

I'm sorry, but the title of this thread made me laugh my ass off. I hope my first batch doesnt taste like Soy sauce!

My guess is that the ice in the fermenter wasnt a good idea and you should have let it sit in the primary for more than 1 week, but I'm sure the veterans of the home brew world here will follow up with better advice.

Old 09-26-2008, 08:28 PM   #3