Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > First Brew since April of 2001 - I'm an official beginner again!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2013, 05:21 PM   #1
KingBubbaTruck
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default First Brew since April of 2001 - Fermentation Chamber Built!

So, looking at my brewing records, apparently I haven't brewed since 2001.

I used to do 10 gallon full grain batches with a herms type of mash. We moved, and I never really unboxed my equipment or got things setup. But I've got a get together scheduled and just enough time to get a brew together.

I had even bought the ingredients a few months ago, but never got around to doing anything. Suffice to say, panic is setting in, and I've been running around trying to get everything setup.

My pack of yeast and already 'sploded' on its own, so last night I went ahead and made a starter. So far so, good, starter is going good.

palominopaleale_001.jpg

I decided to do the same recipe I used to do, same method.

I have upgraded a few items, such as getting some new camlock fittings and silicone hoses instead of the old garden hose fittings and hoses.

Also trying to get my 15 gallon plastic conical fermenter setup. I can always fall back though on carboys if that falls through.

So Brew day is Sunday, I'll be doing a practice run through Friday to make sure I've got everything set and am ready to go.

I'll update this with more pictures as I get all the equipment setup.

Wish me Luck!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2013, 05:41 PM   #2
unionrdr
Wannabe author

Recipes 

Liked 1905 Times on 1677 Posts
Likes Given: 1410