Faster Boiling

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Berserker

Reaction score
Ok so I just started brewing my own :cross: and I'm having a problem with the boil. I first bring the temp to 155 to steep the grains and then try to get it up to boil with about 3 gallons of water in a 5 gallon kettle. My stove just doesn't seem to have the power to be able to do it I could only get up to about 202F and couldn't get a full boil. Plus that took a couple hours to get that high. What can I do to improve this speed or what products work best for boiling? (Electric heating elements, etc.) Thanks.

Greg

Get a propane speed burner (turkey fryer). I can boil 6 gallons of wort in no time.

You aren't boiling the grains are you? Alton Brown is THE MAN...but not in respect to brewing.

No I just bring the water to 155 and steep for about 20-30 mins then take the grains out and then bring to boil. When I got close last time I took it off burner and added the LME then went back to boiling. I never got to a full boil but was real close, had bubbles but not a rolling boil. Curious to see if the batch turns out any good but it was too late to turn back at that point.

What type of stove do you have?

If electric, get a "Canning element" - I boil 7-8 gallons in a 10 gallon pot on my electric stove with one of those. Not terribly fast, but it certainly does boil.

Then again, if you are having that much trouble with only 3 gallons and it is electric, you might even want to have an electrician check the wiring to it - could be a poor connection somewhere in the line, and that could do bad things to your house.