Doctoring up a mexican kit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

poptop

Reaction score
This is my first try at beer I bought a muntons Mexican kit/can, I want to trade out the dextrose for light DME and the no name yeast packet for a kolosh wyeast smack pack. From what I've been reading on this site this is to produce a better beer ?
I don't have a controllable temp area to lager , but my cold storage varies from freezing 0c to 10c (32f to 50f )
any suggestions for a rookie?

I cannot control temps well enough to do lagers. I'm thinking those temps are too far apart to maintain the temp well enough.

Were I you I'd look at a clean ale yeast and keeping the temp between 62-68*.

I've doctored a few kits before, and the idea of using DME is a good one, as is using a better yeast.

I second the ale yeast recommendation. If it's light beer you are after, you can still make great light beer with ale yeast.

I love making cream ale, and that can rival any lager.

Guides, Walkthroughs and Tips for New Homebrewers:

Http://thebeginnersbrew.com/

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

This is my first try at beer I bought a muntons Mexican kit/can, I want to trade out the dextrose for light DME and the no name yeast packet for a kolosh wyeast smack pack. From what I've been reading on this site this is to produce a better beer ?
I don't have a controllable temp area to lager , but my cold storage varies from freezing 0c to 10c (32f to 50f )
any suggestions for a rookie?

How much does your cold storage temp change day to day?

I Googled it and it seems it makes a ~4% ABV 6 gal batch. And I'm sure it's quite low on IBU's. Is this OK for you?