New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Buying too much at once?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 01:50 AM   #1
roxy35
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Buying too much at once?

Hello,
I'm a complete newbie on brewing but am excited to get started. I have read about everything I can on the process and am going to be starting with a Mr. Beer kit, then possibly move to something more advanced if I find a niche with it. I will likely just stick to their "refill" beers, but will also like to venture out one day.

My question is this: Amazon is having a pretty good sale right now, by 3 get 1 free. I've already planned on getting 1 or 2 additional refills that are not included in the starter kit, and am contemplating buying a third just because I would then get a fourth for free. Is it safe to buy the refills this far in advance? I will only have 1 kit, meaning every 4-5 weeks I will bottling a new brew. I'm concerned with 2 things: 1.) Is it safe? and 2.) Will I notice poor quality as I get to the last refill that I brew?

One of the 3 that I will be buying is actually a 3 pack, so in all I would be looking at getting 7 different beers, which includes the one in the starter pack. With just me and my wife, it would take a awhile to drink it, but we would easily drink a case every 4 weeks (or I would store it away, since I've read it will keep for as long as I need it in a cool, dark place). Thoughts?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2012, 02:34 AM   #2
toast
Recipes