The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > brand new - no equipment, no experience

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-18-2011, 02:23 PM   #1
jarrodaden
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default brand new - no equipment, no experience

Home brewing is something that I have heard about and I have always wanted to give it a try.

I rarely do any hobby half way. I usually end up going off the deep end.

I am an engineer, so by nature I have to research way too much. I am trying to pick out a good starter setup. I am on a budget, but I don't want to get a crummy kit. I want to get stuff that I will be able to use over the long term. I don't want to end up replacing a bunch of stuff later.

I live in Houston very close to Defalco's. Here is a kit that I have my eye on.

http://www.defalcos.com/virtuemart.h...category_id=55

They have cheaper kits, but this seems like a good kit with quality stuff.

Opinions on this kit??

Also, I traditionally like wheat beers. Blue Moon is one of my favorites.

Can someone point me to a DIY recipe? I don't think I want to use a "kit" recipe unless there is a "sure thing" out there.

Thanks.

Jarrod

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2011, 03:46 PM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by jarrodaden View Post
I rarely do any hobby half way. I usually end up going off the deep end.

I am an engineer,
Yeah... you're totally fukced. Buckle in.

As for a recipe.... What you are probably going to get in this thread is a dozen people linking to their own recipes because they brewed it and they liked it, and they think you should brew it too. But they are also biased.