An Alien is in my beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aweaselkid

Reaction score
So I went ahead to brew this receipe about a month ago:
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f70/hopped-blood-orange-hefeweizen-314673/

The Hopped Orange Hefe would be a great way to get my gf excited about my brewing hobbies, so I hoped this would turn out good.

I have been brewing for 3+ years, switched pretty quickly to kegging, and have done mostly extract batches. In general, I have very detail oriented, and can swear my sanitation is on-par (if anything too OCD about it). But it looks like I may have slipped up?

This was bottled about a week ago, and has been in my 65-70degree room carbing. I boiled my priming sugar mixture, and transfered to bottling bucket, filled 12 22ox bottles, and put the rest in a 5gal keg. I just lifted the release valve for a second on the keg, and pleeenty of CO2 is happening in there, so that is good, but man, these alien like globs of who-knows-what has really damppered my spirits.

Certainly this is bacteria? Not some random coagulation of yeast? Inintally, sediment settled to to bottom of these bottles pretty quick, but I couldn't help but notice this, whatever it is, is taking over?

Am I ruined?

photo.jpg

Can you pour it into a glass and take another photo for a better look? For here it just looks like large head inside the bottle?

I am kinda tempted to hook the keg up and pour a sample from there. I thought I went about brewing this pretty efficiently, so I would hate to loose a bottle's worth if this is actually an alien offering of orange-yeasty-goodness, but perhaps I need to swallow my pride and take a look.

I have yet to peak in the keg either, not sure what kind of nightmare as growing inside there...