My brew is at 1.023 gravity and stopped.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lowend

Reaction score
I'm kinda new to brewing (this is my 7th batch) and I'm still learning quite a bit. I brewed up an amber about 4 days ago (1.074 OG) and it started bubbling away after about 16 hours or so. I went to check it yesterday (3 days in) and the airlock had completely stopped. I thought that maybe the yeast had crapped out, so I decided to take a hydrometer test and found that my gravity was at 1.023. My concern is that it's not going to ferment anymore and the beer will be too sweet. Any feedback on this matter would be much appreciated.

I'm kinda new to brewing (this is my 7th batch) and I'm still learning quite a bit. I brewed up an amber about 4 days ago (1.074 OG) and it started bubbling away after about 16 hours or so. I went to check it yesterday (3 days in) and the airlock had completely stopped. I thought that maybe the yeast had crapped out, so I decided to take a hydrometer test and found that my gravity was at 1.023. My concern is that it's not going to ferment anymore and the beer will be too sweet. Any feedback on this matter would be much appreciated.

It sounds like much of the fermentation is finished, but it still should continue to drop over the next few days. Three days is way to soon to worry about a fermentation being stuck. Check it again in a week or so- I bet it'll be right where you expect the FG to be.

Whew...thanks for the advice. I guess it's true when they say that you shouldn't trust the airlock.

I have another question though. I plan on transferring it to a secondary fermenter and adding more hops (it's supposed to be kind of an IPA styled Amber). Would it be too soon to transfer over to the glass carboy?