Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway - Last Chance to Enter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Coopers Beer kits?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2011, 10:55 PM   #1
edb23
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Coopers Beer kits?

The brewing supply company coopers on makebeer.net advertises these hopped extract kits that don't require a boil or anything. I'm a college student and as my schedule gets crazier i have less time for brewing, and this looks like a pretty simple, easy and quick way to make some beer at home but it also seems to good to be true. has anyone tried these kits? what were the results?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2011, 11:22 PM   #2
NavySur4
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

My first kit was the Cooper's English Bitter. It was good, you just need to modify their directions. Leave it in primary for 4 weeks instead of the 7 days they suggest. After 4 weeks, bottle and condition for 4 weeks instead of the 10 days they suggest. It gets even better if you let them sit a little longer. I'm not sure about the other kits, I've heard mixed reviews - i.e. the Irish Stout is good but the cerveza and lager are not. I would make the English Bitter again.

Old 01-31-2011, 02:29 AM   #3
edb23
Recipes 

do you think it would benefit the beer much if i replaced the corn sugar and stuff the provide with some of their unhopped malt extract or just leave the kits as they are?

Old 01-31-2011, 03:48 AM   #4
McGarnigle
Recipes 

Liked 42 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 24

It's often recommended to use Dry Malt Extract instead of sugar, though that will cost you more. You could use Liquid Malt Extract (unhopped) just as well. Or you could use half and half of DME and sugar (You can buy DME by the pound, but not LME). The more extract you use instead of sugar, the stronger tasting and better bodied the beer.

Old 01-31-2011, 05:37 PM   #5
rocketcrab