Any thoughts on this Belgian wheat recipe?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewer8700

Reaction score
So, my good friends and my wife and I are going on a a camping trip in early summer, and I am looking at brewing this recipe for the trip. I am not a huge belgian fan, but my wife and friends love it. I really like Breckenridge agave wheat, and thought if I could do something similar with an orangey citrus flavor that could be perfect. Through looking at different recipes, this is what I've come up with. I am new to this, but think this may work, and could be pretty good. Any thoughts, and ideas on how long I should boil all the different ingredients for?

0.5 lb Crystal 20L crushed grain- steep for 20 minutes or 170 degrees
0.5 lb. Crushed red wheat- steep for 20 minutes or 170 degrees
0.5 lb. Crushed white wheat- Steep for 20 minutes or 170 degrees
3 lbs. extra light Dry Malt Extract- (60 minutes)
3 lbs. Liquid Wheat Malt Extract- (60 minutes)
0.5 lb. Crushed white wheat- 20 minutes or 170 degrees
½ oz bitter orange peel- added to boil at 20 minutes
½ oz sweet orange peel- added to boil at 20 minutes
½ oz. crushed coriander- added to boil at 20 minutes
1.5 oz. Mt Hood hops- 1 oz at 60 minutes, ½ oz. at 5 minutes
1 lb. Agave nectar- added to wort when removed from heat. stirred in while cooling.
Wyeast belgian wheat yeast 3942

I personally add my coriander and orange peel much later (between 5 and 0 minutes)

So, by adding it later in the boil what does this do to the flavor of the orange and coriander? Does it make it less subtle, or more so?

BTW, the second time the white wheat is in there is a typo.