Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Cloudy beer problem

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2013, 07:32 PM   #1
Djuhnk
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Default Cloudy beer problem

I just started brewing on a 10 gallon system, each time (3 batches) I have ended up with very cloudy beers. I mash in a 10 gallon Rubbermaid with false bottom and I have been mashing for a long time to make sure I get full conversion. I have used 2 varieties of American ale and a northwest ale yeast. I have also let the beers sit in the fridge for at least 3 weeks before jumping to conclusions. Any ideas?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2013, 07:34 PM   #2
Djuhnk
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

I also want to add that along with the cloudiness there is also off flavors I can't put my finger on. And I also only use a primary and usually ferment in that for a week and a half and then rack to a keg, carbonate it and let it sit out for a couple days before chilling it.

Old 01-17-2013, 07:38 PM   #3
unionrdr
Wannabe author
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2012 Times on 1763 Posts
Likes Given: 1491

At 1.5 weeks,I don't think the beer has had time to clean up by products of fermentation & settle out clear or slightly misty before proceeding. Mine get 3 weks on average. The interesting part is that extract brews clear a bit faster than my partial mash ones do. I've used US-05,a medium flocculation yeast,& Cooper's ale yeast,a high flocculation yeast. Both rehydrated,& both times,the beer was slightly misty on bottling day. I figured the grains have something to do with this. But they settle out clear a few days in the bottle.
And since you have some off flavors,I'd say you're kegging too son. More time seems to be in order.

Old 01-17-2013, 08:21 PM   #4
Matt3989
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 44 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 3