Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > BIAB all grain vs "regular" all grain brewing

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2013, 05:47 AM   #1
saucedoa
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default BIAB all grain vs "regular" all grain brewing

I am looking to brew my first all grain batch. I would like some advice or recommendations as to which method to use, BIAB or the "regular" all grain brewing since it is my first time brewing an all grain batch. Any tips or other advice welcomed.

Thank you!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2013, 05:59 AM   #2
BansheeRider
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 100 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 9

BIAB is convenient and requires no equipment upgrade if you already have a large BK, however, you might not get great efficiency using the BIAB method. You are also restricted to relatively low ABV beers due to less grains. Really all you need is a cooler converted MLT and you're set. This can be had for under $50.

Good judgement comes from experience, experience comes from bad judgement.

Old 12-27-2013, 05:59 AM   #3
Chadwick
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 113 Times on 80 Posts
Likes Given: 39

I would go for the BIAB method first. It requires much less equipment and the results are just as good. Unless you are 100% certain that home brewing will be a life-long hobby, BIAB is the best way to experience all-grain brewing without investing a very large sum of money. Of course even BIAB setups can become expensive and elaborate, but in general it really is a simplification of the proceedure. Truth be told, I do BIAB brewing and I have no desire to expand beyond it. My setup is simple, I get great results, and I'm super pleased with the beers I'm making. It is working for me perfectly.