Kegging schedule for 4 kegs, 2 carboys, drinking 2 kegs/month

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Robko

Reaction score
Hi, I am totally new to kegging and wondering about how many kegs to buy and what would the schedule be.
When bottling smaller beer, I do 1, 1, 4 schedule instead of common 1, 2, 3. What would a good schedule for 4 kegs, 2 carboys be, while drinking lets say 2 kegs a month (not necessarily 2 whole kegs, 1 whole and 2 halves is equally fine) and brewing 1 or 2 keg batch every second weekend? I can do at most 2 weeks primary as I ferment in my kettle.
Please do not tell me to buy many more kegs or carboys, i do not have that much room and money, I could possibly survive 8 containers in any composition max, but I would be happy with just 4 and 2.
I would like the beer to be equally mature as with my 1, 1, 4 schedule.

For general low/medium grav beers I'd do a 2,2 schedule: 2 weeks in primary, then 2 weeks in the keg to cold crash and slowly carbonate.

Many people will use a keg as a secondary, you can top it with CO2 and let it sit for however long you want and not have to worry about oxidation or other bad things. Without getting the timing too tight, I would think that 2 boys and 4 kegs is plenty. If you're doing the set and forget method, carbonating will generally take 2 weeks-ish, but if you're in a hurry setting to a high pressure and shaking can get you there a lot faster.

I would think that a 2;2 would be fine. The should give you, once the line is full, 2 kegs drinking, 1 keg carbonating, 1 keg in secondary or just waiting, and 1 in your kettle. If you get backed up, you will have the two carboys to hold extra if your kegs haven't kicked yet.