Kegging 101

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jambafish

Reaction score
This is my first time kegging so I have questions and need advice.

I'm making two 5 gallon batches. One is a double IPA and the other a Belgian double. Both are Northern kits, plus some additions. I'm making double starters for both. I recently purchased a kegerator and just got a temperature controller to keep it at 68-degrees so I can primary in there, which I'm psyched about.

1. Should I secondary? My other option is to brew with Irish moss, rack to the keg, put it on gas, and let it stay in there another week or two. I was planning on using a secondary, but just realized it might not be needed.

2. If the keg is the secondary, do I need to worry about any residual yeast or hops clogging the system?

3. Even if I keg, does the beer still need conditioning time? Is it fine to condition under pressure?

4. Do I need to chill the beer after kegging or can I simply put it in a cooler place and wait until both kegs are ready to be put on tap? If I can put beers on and take them off of the tap that would give me the ability to take a beer off for two weeks while I'm using it as a fermentation locker, then thrown them back on.

Thanks! I'm sure I'll have more questions once it comes time to hook the lines up.

1) Don't secondary. It's established now that secondary tanks were based on really old information and poor yeast health. You can secondary for dry-hopping if you want, but a lot of folks just do that in the primary if it's less than 2 oz of hops or so. If you're trying to wash/save yeast then you'd probably want to go to a secondary.