Quick mead recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gooders

Reaction score
Hi All

Can anyone offer some advice please? I have some mead that I am bulk aging at the moment and it looks great, i followed a classic recipe and I understand it is going to take a long time for it to age and develop which I am fine with.

A friend has now challenged me to make him a small batch of semi sweet mead for an occasion meaning it would need to be drinking well in five months from now.

I am pretty new to the mead game and have only made mead the long way round.

Is it possible to get a gallon of really good sweetish mead in five months??

Cheers

Paul

Do a search for Joe's Ancient Orange Mead. Per the recipe it is ready in 2 months.

I made a 5 gallon batch for some guys at work and they all finished their bottles within 2 weeks of me giving it to them. I have been disciplined enough to only have consumed 2 bottles, still 7 left. Tasty stuff. But it is is pretty sweet though.

I am about to put my 2nd batch together.

Cheers Fathand I will check it out

I guess if it sounds too sweet i can adjust acordingly

Paul

Paul,

Sometimes "Joe's Ancient Orange" is ready quickly, sometimes not. It can still be a little infuriating waiting for the fruit to drop, but if you try that one, stick to the recipe, and it still comes good (usually).