Magnetic Stirrer in Primary?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nomile

Reaction score
Howdy all,
I am in my second year of mead-making, and have learned a lot from year one - I think. I just started my first batch for this year, and wanted to try out some of the more sophisticated approaches (SNA, daily stirring, etc). Seems to be helping a LOT!

Right now, I am curious if anyone has attempted to perform the twice-daily degassing on days 1-7 with a magnetic stirrer in the primary bucket (4-5gal)?? It seems that instead of opening the fermenter 2 times a day (and risking contamination), it would be easier to use a magnetic stirrer with enough oomph to move the stirring rod, no?

Has anyone tried this?

n

I haven't read much about degassing as a technique (is this to up the pH?), but if we're talking aeration, I remember reading at some point a test by somebody who used magnetic stirrer to continuously aerate a must. The only detail I recall is that the mead finished fermenting super fast (I read this when I just started brewing, so the details escape me sorry); I don't think it was mentioned how this effected the final aged product however (sometimes super fast ferments can also have a lot of fusel issues).

To me, it seems like a bit of overkill. Have you ever got contaminated mead? I'm guessing not, and even if so, it seems unlikely that it was due to opening the lid to aerate or degas. One of those, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. That said, experimentation is half the fun.

I recently got the new Black Maxx stirplate and it is perfect for this kind of thing, as it's even capable of stirring a 5gal carboy. I'm definitely going to be experimenting with stirred fermentations.