The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > First Timer - Failure

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-28-2013, 05:49 PM   #1
buckeyefrank
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

Default First Timer - Failure

I am just getting started on making wine. About a week ago I started my first batch and began a cheap grape concentrate 1 gallon recipe. OG was 1.095 and the must was placed in a fermenting bucket. For some reason, fermentation never really took off. There has been a little foam on top but the airlock was only bubbling every 10 seconds or so. I opened it up and there's a strange smell in the bucket. I'm really bad at determining smells but it's probably vinegarish. I took another SG and it's at 1.080.

I know the batch is bad and I am OK with that. After I dump the must am I OK to thoroughly wash and santize the bucket / lid and reuse them? I thought I read somewhere that wasn't smart.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2013, 08:07 PM   #2
kevinstan
Recipes 

It's perfectly ok to use the same bucket and stuff as long as everything is cleaned like it should be. What type of bucket did you use for the primary? If it was an old pickle bucket that could have something to do with it. Otherwise, post more about your specific process and I will try to help you out some more.

Old 06-28-2013, 08:07 PM   #3
kevinstan
Recipes 

I also meant to ask: what type of yeast did you use?

Old 06-28-2013, 08:15 PM   #4
buckeyefrank
Recipes 

It was actually a brand new food grade 5 gallon bucket that I purchased from Lowes. The yeast was purchased from my LHBS.

I have a feeling the yeast may have been bad. I was making 1 gallon so I decided to split the yeast. I took a little over 1/4 tsp for a hobo apple wine and then the remainder for the concentrate. Neither of them are doing very well.

Thanks

Old 06-28-2013, 09:51 PM   #5
Heavywalker
Recipes 

Liked 75 Times on 48 Posts