Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > Standalone, Plug and Play Raspberry Pi Headless Brewstand Controller-Server

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2013, 05:23 AM   #91
crane
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhizardHat
Hey y'all
I'm just enamored. I'm going to get started on this and try to follow along. I'm a mechanical engineer by trade, and have some Python experience, so hopefully I won't get too far underwater. But I digress, I actually have a question for you.

Brewman!, you mentioned that you're using this relay board to control your burners and pumps. Can that thing handle the 240V of a standard water heater element? I know you're going to be using gas in your system, but I guess I'll be doing an e-RPi-HERMS. I know some of the non-automated electrical systems use big, expensive SSRs for controlling elements. If this works, it would drastically reduce the cost of an automated electric system. If this is a dumb question, feel free to say so.

Awesome discussion, and Cheers!
That relay board can handle 250V but only at 10A. If you plan on running a 4500W or 5500W element like most of us use then it won't be able to handle that much current. These draw 18.75 and 23 amps respectively.

Now onto the next problem. Regular relays like this are not robust enough to handle the extremely high amount of cycling that you will throw at it for this type of application. That is why you need an SSR instead of a normal relay.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2013, 07:00 AM   #92
wdevauld
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhizardHat View Post
Can that thing handle the 240V of a standard water heater element?