North Carolina pulled pork trailer in Austin, TX? I must be crazy.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewN00b

Reaction score
Indeed, I must be. Well, here I am, starting month two of owning and running a North Carolina pulled pork food trailer, and boy let me tell you, it is stressful. Honestly though, if you had told me four months ago I would be doing this I wouldn't had believed you. I have no background in cooking or in the food industry, I have been essentially doing all sorts of either finance or retail since I left the USMC in 1997, but I worked with my current business partner at my last job and learned that he had some BBQ talent, and it just so happened that we both got completely fed up with our last employer and decided to break free and pilot the course of our destiny.

There have been some hurdles and lots of restless nights, but we both figure that success will not be easy, so we accept it and carry on. Our place is called Curlys perfect pig, and we are located near the university of Texas campus. We do slow smoked pulled pork in the Carolina's style; less smoke than the standard Texas stuff, we use hickory instead of mesquite, and our finishing sauces are vinegar based, so they are thinner, lighter, tangy, and used to highlight the flavor of the pork, seasoning, and smoke. We also do pulled smoked chicken, and things like beans and hush puppies and of course slaw.

Anyways, now that I'm working so many hours my desire and ability to brew has been shattered, so instead of looking at new recipes, and discussing home brew I will probably spend more time in the general chit chat location with y'all.