New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > will this switch work for turning off CAMCO element?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2013, 07:28 PM   #1
twd000
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 404
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default will this switch work for turning off CAMCO element?

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3016149#showFullReviews

After digging though the trays at Radio Shack, this is the closest match I could find. I need to connect both hot legs of 240V supply so that I can guarantee no current is flowing even when PID is OFF.

It's rated 10A @ 250V. Do I need one that rated 23A to cut power to a 5500W CAMCO element?


__________________
twd000 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2013, 07:34 PM   #2
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,749
Liked 123 Times on 105 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default

Yes, you need a higher rated switch, or a suitably rated double pole, single throw, normally open, definite purpose contactor with the switch controlling the coil. Home Depot has a 30a double pole switch that will work, that looks like a regular wall switch. http://www.homedepot.com/p/Leviton-30-Amp-Industrial-Double-Pole-Switch-White-R62-03032-2WS/100356941#.UppLr5Uo61s



__________________
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2013, 05:08 AM   #3
kenh
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 256
Liked 20 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twd000 View Post
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3016149#showFullReviews

After digging though the trays at Radio Shack, this is the closest match I could find. I need to connect both hot legs of 240V supply so that I can guarantee no current is flowing even when PID is OFF.

It's rated 10A @ 250V. Do I need one that rated 23A to cut power to a 5500W CAMCO element?
That 10 Amp switch definitely won't work. The contacts are rated to carry 10 Amps, not just break 10 Amps. I searched through their web site and none of their switches will work.

You could use the switch to turn a relay or contactor on & off. Maybe someone on the list can post a link to a 240 VAC contactor rated at 30+ Amps with a 240Volt coil?
__________________
kenh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2013, 05:48 AM   #4
RichBenn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tahoe
Posts: 736
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Almost everyone uses contactors when using 240 volt circuits, because switches typically only go up to 20A. Look through P-J's diagrams to see how these are connected. This allows you to use switches designed for much lower current, which are way cheaper and going to be safer.

__________________

Try my 1st Place Wedding Pale Ale!

RichBenn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2013, 12:47 PM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,154
Liked 234 Times on 188 Posts
Likes Given: 398

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenh View Post
...
Maybe someone on the list can post a link to a 240 VAC contactor rated at 30+ Amps with a 240Volt coil?
Here you go: Auber Insrument: - Contactor, 2 pole 40 A, 240V coil
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2013, 12:57 PM   #6
passedpawn
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 17,491
Liked 2642 Times on 1702 Posts
Likes Given: 2150

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh View Post
Yes, you need a higher rated switch, or a suitably rated double pole, single throw, normally open, definite purpose contactor with the switch controlling the coil. Home Depot has a 30a double pole switch that will work, that looks like a regular wall switch. http://www.homedepot.com/p/Leviton-30-Amp-Industrial-Double-Pole-Switch-White-R62-03032-2WS/100356941#.UppLr5Uo61s
This switch is available at Home Depot. It's 2-pole. 30A. 240VAC. I've been using them for years with my 5500W elements. What else is there to say?


__________________
Do not try and bend the spoon. That's impossible. Instead... only try to realize the truth. There is no spoon.
passedpawn is offline
atoughram Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This relay work for element power switch? fingling5 Electric Brewing 5 12-31-2013 09:30 PM
No name element vs camco? sablesurfer Electric Brewing 3 11-22-2013 06:08 PM
Camco element question Wine-Em_Dine_Em Electric Brewing 1 02-22-2013 06:22 AM
Camco element mux Electric Brewing 8 02-08-2012 12:23 AM
Camco Element Question illin8 Equipment/Sanitation 3 02-26-2010 07:03 PM