Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > will this switch work for turning off CAMCO element?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2013, 08:28 PM   #1
twd000
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 410
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default will this switch work for turning off CAMCO element?

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...howFullReviews

After digging though the trays at Radio Shack, this is the closest match I could find. I need to connect both hot legs of 240V supply so that I can guarantee no current is flowing even when PID is OFF.

It's rated 10A @ 250V. Do I need one that rated 23A to cut power to a 5500W CAMCO element?
__________________
twd000 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2013, 08:34 PM   #2
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,870
Liked 144 Times on 125 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

Yes, you need a higher rated switch, or a suitably rated double pole, single throw, normally open, definite purpose contactor with the switch controlling the coil. Home Depot has a 30a double pole switch that will work, that looks like a regular wall switch. http://www.homedepot.com/p/Leviton-3...1#.UppLr5Uo61s

__________________
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2013, 06:08 AM   #3
kenh
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 256
Liked 20 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twd000 View Post
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...howFullReviews

After digging though the trays at Radio Shack, this is the closest match I could find. I need to connect both hot legs of 240V supply so that I can guarantee no current is flowing even when PID is OFF.

It's rated 10A @ 250V. Do I need one that rated 23A to cut power to a 5500W CAMCO element?
That 10 Amp switch definitely won't work. The contacts are rated to carry 10 Amps, not just break 10 Amps. I searched through their web site and none of their switches will work.

You could use the switch to turn a relay or contactor on & off. Maybe someone on the list can post a link to a 240 VAC contactor rated at 30+ Amps with a 240Volt coil?
__________________
kenh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2013, 06:48 AM   #4
RichBenn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tahoe
Posts: 750
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Almost everyone uses contactors when using 240 volt circuits, because switches typically only go up to 20A. Look through P-J's diagrams to see how these are connected. This allows you to use switches designed for much lower current, which are way cheaper and going to be safer.

__________________

Try my 1st Place Wedding Pale Ale!

RichBenn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2013, 01:47 PM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,283
Liked 259 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 454

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenh View Post
...
Maybe someone on the list can post a link to a 240 VAC contactor rated at 30+ Amps with a 240Volt coil?
Here you go: Auber Insrument: - Contactor, 2 pole 40 A, 240V coil
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2013, 01:57 PM   #6
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 19,651
Liked 3621 Times on 2232 Posts
Likes Given: 3124

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh View Post
Yes, you need a higher rated switch, or a suitably rated double pole, single throw, normally open, definite purpose contactor with the switch controlling the coil. Home Depot has a 30a double pole switch that will work, that looks like a regular wall switch. http://www.homedepot.com/p/Leviton-3...1#.UppLr5Uo61s
This switch is available at Home Depot. It's 2-pole. 30A. 240VAC. I've been using them for years with my 5500W elements. What else is there to say?
__________________
All the clouds are cumuloft
Walking in space
passedpawn is offline
atoughram Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This relay work for element power switch? fingling5 Electric Brewing 5 12-31-2013 10:30 PM
No name element vs camco? sablesurfer Electric Brewing 3 11-22-2013 07:08 PM
Camco element question Wine-Em_Dine_Em Electric Brewing 1 02-22-2013 07:22 AM
Camco element mux Electric Brewing 8 02-08-2012 01:23 AM
Camco Element Question illin8 Equipment/Sanitation 3 02-26-2010 08:03 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS