Gone with the wheat first timer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Simonw22

Reaction score
Hi, i have completed my first batch of 'gone with the wheat' which was a czech pilsner style lager. I have just tasted a sample after 3 weeks of conditioning and it tastes discusting!!!
It has a horrible after taste which ive found unbearable.

The ingredients include sorghum extract which seems to be all i can taste.

Has anybody ever had the same experience as me? Does anybody have a different way of making gluten free beer that they would like to share with me.

As mentioned, im a beginner.

Thanks guys.

That off flavor is probably the "sorghum twang" that you will see mentioned again and again...I agree with you...its nasty, I have stoped using sorghum.

It does get better with bottle aging, in 6 months your batch will be less discusting; but that flavor will still be there to some degree.

I have made some great beers with rice syrup (get it from Annapolis homebrew), but it makes a paper thin beer with little malt charicter. So you should do a partial mash with 3 ish pounds of rice malt or millet malt to add flavor. Adding a 1/2 lb of maltodextrine also helps to add some body to the beer.

This will get you close.

Thanks legume,

Sadly i have only brewed this 1 beer which was an easy to use no boil kit. As im a beginner i wouldnt know the first thing about mashing.

No boil brew kit ?!?! I have never tried that, but my guess is that a beer brewed with that method is likely to suck no matter if it is barley or gluten free ingredients.