Wyeast 2633 no activity after 50 hours

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Korszun

Reaction score
So I'm a relative newb. This is my second all grain batch, 1st lager, 1st time using liquid yeast. Our house is cold right now so I figured I'd take advantage of the conditions and tried a Vienna lager.

The recipe is a smash, 100% Vienna malt with magnum for bittering at 60min. Brew day went great, mashed for 1 hour at 66/67C, 90 min boil with 15g magnum at 60. Ended up with 22 litres of wort with SG of 1.070.

This was much higher than I was expecting (I was a little freestyle with my recipe) and I only had 1 smack pack of 2633. So I cooled to about 20c and pitched. The pack was smacked several hours in advance and I thought it had begun to swell but only a little (maybe I was imagining it). I aerated by pouring between the brew kettle and fv several times, my normal routine which works great. After pitching I allowed it to cool naturally to about 12C which is where it's sat now. I know I under pitched, but this was all I had so I went with the slightly warmer pitching temp to try to help the yeast and ordered some backup S-23 just in case (should arrive tomorrow).

There has been zero airlock activity, I waited 48 hours and took a gravity reading, we're still at 1.070. So what's going on? Like I said I know I under pitched but I would have expected some activity. The pack of yeast was well within date, I'd had it for less than a week and it had been stored in the fridge all of that time. I live in the UK so with the current weather I don't think it would have been exposed to problem temperatures during shipping. The store is one of the UKs biggest online retailers so their stock turnover should be ok.