Hydrometer reading, can i bottle?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Simonw22

Reaction score
Hi, my first brew is nearly complete but the reading has been stuck on 1012 (the black in pic)for a few days now? Is it ok to bottle? I am brewing a gone with the wheat beer with SG 1040. ImageUploadedByHome Brew1410601508.416537.jpg

Probably ok if you must, but why not give it another week?
That said, we don't know how long you have had it there.
Another week will only improve your situation, there is no downside.

This is what it looks like at the moment. I have transfered from fermenting bucket to demi john as i thought i was only couple of days away. I dont have to bottle now just dont want it to go 'off' if i leave it. Im new to brewing so maybe im just jumping the gun. ImageUploadedByHome Brew1410602135.570583.jpg

Then wait !
It won't go off.
Four to six weeks is very normal before bottling, it looks as though there is still something going on in your brew, so long as there is an airlock on your container I would leave it be for a bit.

Ok thanks for advice. It has been fermenting 3 weeks this tuesday. I will leave and see how it gets on.

That's the right call, three weeks is not long enough, your brew will be better for it.
I know it's hell waiting for your first brews, the thing to do now is to get the next one going as your FV is now empty.
Keeping the flow line going is one of the harder aspects of the hobby.

Well I'll disagree a little bit. 3 weeks is typically long enough.