Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Brew swapping Etiquette.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2013, 02:41 AM   #1
Tuby
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default Brew swapping Etiquette.

Dear Doctor Phil

So I'm fairly new to brewing myself, but not Home Brew, I have several friends who are brewer's and have been for years.

Occasionally we swap Brew's between ourselves, sometimes for comparison other times just for the hell of it or to return the favor. I always enjoyed tasting my mate's home brews ( something I can now reciprocate ) its awesome to see their take on certain beers.

A couple of the guys are AG brewers one just does extract. The extract brewer is always giving me new beer to try, I have recently been able to repay his generosity by giving him a few of my own

So that's the story, here's the punchline, Every Beer he give's my tastes the same all I get from it is soap. The last Bottle he gave me was a Coopers Kit Stout, the body was thin the colour was very light and again all I could taste was Soap !

I have had this kit before from another mate, and I really enjoyed it, it had a full body plenty of stout pazazz and no soap.

My question is, should I let my mate know this is what im getting from his beer's ? he always seems very pleased with them so I'm a little apprehensive to tell him I dont really enjoy them.

Have anyone come up against this ?

Cheers Mark

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2013, 02:59 AM   #2
beergolf
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 366 Times on 299 Posts
Likes Given: 115

Tough decision.