Why propogate yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BadKarmaa

Reaction score
I've read countless blogs about this subject and I just can't seem to wrap my head around it. Why go through all the trouble to culture yeast and save it for later? Granted, I always make a starter but personally I am always brewing something completely different from batch to batch and hardly ever use the same yeast. Additionally, it seems like too much trouble and clutter in my fridge and cabinets just to save a few bucks, and I'm a poor college student! I spend three times that amount every week on Copenhagen. Whats another 5 bones every other week? Is anyone with me on this?:confused: Am I missing some benefits by not cultering yeast and saving it for future batches?:confused: Someone enlighten me.

I suppose it depends on your brewing preferences. I will be brewing a great deal of wheats, wheatbocks, wits, and a variety of stouts - so it would be in my best interest to cultivate a hefe strain and an irish ale strain. I am learning to brew on a schedule where pitch a new batch into the primary when the existing batch is transferred into the secondary. My goal is to be beerless no more. You have two options - If you brew something different everytime you will have to buy new yeast everytime. Or you could schedule some similar brews and get 2-3 batches out of one vial.

Advantages:

Allows you to pitch very large amounts of yeast
Saves some money (show of good faith to SWMBO?)
Gives you one more thing to putz around with.

I do dometimes end up throwing yeast out if I don't brew anything else that uses that yeast soon enough. But it seems like most brewers would have at least one or two strains that they'd use often enough for it to be useful.