'open' primary; Fine for wine, why not beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jlangfo5

Reaction score
Hey folks!

I've been making homebrew for the past two years or so, and I got most of my knowledge from these forums and articles linked from these forums.

Something that is always hammered here is how important oxygen is for primary fermentation, yet its always insisted that primary fermentation be performed inside of closed off csrboys.

So to counter this, we add pure oxygen from a medical o2 tank to help the yeast out.

My question is, why not perform primary fermentation in a giant vat or bucket inside of the fermentation chamber and put a cheese cloth on top as is common in winemaking?

Is beer somehow more vunerable to infection than wine?

No, that would work. But even with wine, once fermentation slows down, it is racked to a carboy and airlocked to prevent oxidation and contamination. Often, for me that is about 5-7 days for wine and it would be even faster for beer.

That's standard practise for English commercial brewers. They use open top fermentation tanks to ferment down to a couple of points above FG, then transfer to casks for secondary/carbonation before serving from the casks, or to secondary tanks for conditioning before bottling.

e.g. Sam Smith's Yorkshire Squares:

yorkshire_square.jpg

I've seen open fermenters in Germany also. I suspect that the rooms that contain these vessels are probably cleaner than my basement.