Water is starting to confuse/frustrate me.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gwaugh

Reaction score
Hi all. I have been brewing for about 1 1/2 years, AG since the 10th batch or so. I had focused on fermentation temp control/sanitation at the start and was very happy with my results. When I went AG I started to get frustrated. I brew all styles and have been relatively happy with the lighter styles but I love porters and stouts and it seems any darker beer is coming out thin and slightly harsh. I've been reading a lot of posts, purchased/read the Water book and tried messing around with the water profile tools in Beersmith and I don't feel I'm making any progress.

Here is my Ward report:

pH 8.5
Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) Est, ppm 160
Electrical Conductivity, mmho/cm 0.27
Cations / Anions, me/L 2.3 / 2.2
ppm
Sodium, Na 11
Potassium, K 4
Calcium, Ca 25
Magnesium, Mg 6
Total Hardness, CaCO3 88
Nitrate, NO3-N 0.4 (SAFE)
Sulfate, SO4-S 7
Chloride, Cl 40
Carbonate, CO3 3
Bicarbonate, HCO3 29
Total Alkalinity, CaCO3 29

In my last batch (Black Butte Poter Clone) I used the suggestions in the water chemistry primer thread and just started with distilled water instead of my carbon filtered water. Its still in the fermentor so I haven't been able to try it yet. Should I just keep using distilled/RO or can I adjust my home water to get good results. Any help would be great.