Measuring Water Additions (Scale only Does 1g)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoppaFarms

Reaction score
Well folks, noobie mistake. This is my first attempt at adjusting distilled water to my desired profile. I have all the ingredients for my brew, yeast starter begun last night, water purchased and brew day is ready to go....

Except I didn't realize that my scale only does 1gram increments. For my mash water this isn't an issue, as my additions ended up being whole gram increments (1 and 2). My sparge water additions are in the 0.7 and 1.4 gram range.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I should do this? I suppose I could try and measure 2 grams and split it into thirds to get ~0.7, then 3 grams and split it in half to get ~1.4 grams.

Besides this, are there other options?

I have the same kind of scale and I'm too cheap to buy a triple-beam balance.

I measure out 10 level teaspoons and weigh it all. Divide the weight by 10 and I have a good wt/tsp. value. For example, the epsom salt I use comes out to about 3g per tsp. Then I just use fractional measuring spoons to get the amount I want.

That's a good idea. I do have fractional teaspoons (1 tsp down to 1/8 tsp). But as far as my additions (Gypsum, CaCl, and CaCO3) go, I only have 2 oz each of these from Midwest. I suppose I could just do a smaller amounts, maybe 2-3 tsp? Wouldn't be quite as accurate as doing 10 but I suppose it would work. Thanks for the idea!