'Feeding' the GBP

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tommy_boy

Reaction score
Hi y'all,

I'm a novice ginger beer plant enthusiast, and started my second generation of experimental Ginger beer plants (GBP) and started having fun geeky chats about it with a friend who brews his own beer.

I get the impression his beer-brewing antics are much more refined and exacting than mine, but he asked me a funny question I realised I couldn't answer:

'Why do ginger beer plants need to be 'fed' daily, why not put seven days worth of ginger and sugar (basics) at the start and let it run its course?'

I have one batch busy putting that to the test, but I'm curious if anyone out there knows the technical/sciencey reason for this method of growing GBPs??

I've never used GBP and in fact had to look up what it even is, but I can guess at an answer. I think it might be because too much sugar doesn't allow for enough nutrients. It's like making mead. You don't want to just add yeast to 20# of honey and water without adding nutrients. Or instead, you can start slow and add honey in increments to allow the yeast to work through fewer fermentables so they stay nice and healthy. But that's just my guess.

Maybe it's like sourdough (which I do know about) where you can't just add pounds of flour to "feed" the sourdough starter because it would probably just die off or not be nearly as healthy is it would be by feeding it small amounts each day.

Hi y'all,

I'm a novice ginger beer plant enthusiast, and started my second generation of experimental Ginger beer plants (GBP) and started having fun geeky chats about it with a friend who brews his own beer.