Recipe advice for an All-Grain Belgian Christmas ale?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

secondratemime

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to all-grain, but I wan't to brew a spiced ale to give away at xmas. I like the sound of a Great Lakes christmas ale clone I read about on here, but have a big starter of Wyeast 3787 ready for a Tripel I'm brewing this week and thought I'd give it a Belgian twist. I haven't brewed the tripel yet, so have a lot in the store cupboard to play with...

9kg Maris Otter Pale Malt
6Kg Belgian Pilsner
2kg Belgian Pale Malt
1.5kg Carapils
1kg Wheat Malt
1kg Roasted Barley
0.5kg Pale Rye

I also have a decent amount of Hallertauer Mittelfruh, Saaz, Styrian Goldings, Perle and Cascade. I was thinking of broadly following the proportions of the Great Lakes clone with some cinnamon and ginger in there. Yeast-wise I could use the 3787 starter or pitch some US-05/04 if that's going to be a problem getting done for Xmas, as I've read the Belgian strains can take a little maturation time. I've fiddled about some ideas in Beer Smith and here's what it spat out for a 23L batch at 70% efficiency.

Recipe Type: All Grain
Yeast: Wyeast 3787
Yeast Starter: 2L - 500billion cells
Batch Size (Gallons): 6
Original Gravity: 1.074
Final Gravity: 1.014
ABV: 8%
IBU: 30
Boiling Time (Minutes): 90
Color: 29.4
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 14 days at 20C (68F)
Secondary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 14 days at 20C (68F) plus bottle conditioning for at least 4 weeks

4kg Maris Otter 50%
2kg Belgian Pale Malt 25%
0.5kg Cara-pils 6.3%
0.5kg Pale Rye 6.3%
0.5kg Wheat Malt 6.3%
0.2kg Roasted Barley 2.5%
0.25kg Home made Amber Candi sugar 3.1%
1tsp Irish Moss

Styrian Goldings - 60mins (27IBU's)
Hallertauer - 10mins (3IBU's)