Infusing basil into beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

baslert

Reaction score
Recently I had a homebrew beer with infused basil. I was wondering what you thought was the best and easiest way to do it. I'm kind of new to the homebrew thing so here is what I've heard suggested..
-Add an oz of basil to the wort last five minutes
-Boil an oz of basil making a tea, the add to fermenter
Could you boil the basil with the priming sugar and add before bottling?
If added in last 5 minutes, do you leave the leaves in the fermenter? Should leaves be cut up or whole leaves?

I have made a basil saison before. I don't have the recipe in front of me but, I'm fairly confident that 1 oz is way too much. 1/2 oz should be more than enough. I used fresh leaves and scoured them with a fork. I then added them real late in the boil. Like 5-10 min left.

Basil is a strong flavor and should come through fine. You should consider some lemon peel or even a lemony hop. I used sorachi ace.

Osedax said:
I have made a basil saison before. I don't have the recipe in front of me but, I'm fairly confident that 1 oz is way too much. 1/2 oz should be more than enough. I used fresh leaves and scoured them with a fork. I then added them real late in the boil. Like 5-10 min left.

Basil is a strong flavor and should come through fine. You should consider some lemon peel or even a lemony hop. I used sorachi ace.

Do I leave the basil in the fermenter or take it out? Why do you suggest the lemon? Just for flavor?

I checked my notes. Basil at flameout. I used 1oz and it was way too much. 1/2 oz should be enough kick. I wouldn't recommend basil in the fermenter. You could try dry hopping basil but I would use new basil.